HERO 4x4xplore - Exclusive worldwide adventures in your own 4x4
Forthcoming Events
SM
shim
PAST EVENTS
The Grand Tour of India
shim
La Adventura Panamericana
shim
The Great Tour of China 2006
shim
The African Adventure
shim
The Great Tour of China 2004
shim
Arctic Winter Trial

shim

Inca Trail
7 Oct - 24 Nov. 2001

shim London to Capetown 1998
shim
4x4xplore home

USEFUL LINKS 

We have found many of the following links to be useful.  We recommend these in good faith but accept no responsibility for the goods, services or information that they supply.

 

VEHICLE INFORMATION

MANUFACTURERS

Toyota UK: http://www.toyota.co.uk

Mitsibishi UK: http://www.mitsubishi-cars.co.uk

Land Rover UK: http://www.landrover.co.uk

Range Rover UK: http://www.landrover.co.uk

Isuzu UK: http://www.isuzu.co.uk

Nissan UK: http://www.nissan.co.uk/

Ford UK: http://www.ford.co.uk/

SUPPLIERS

The Left Hand Drive Place: http://www.lhdplace.co.uk/

SHIPMENT

CARS Motorsport: http://www.carseurope.net/

top of page

NAVIGATION

GPS & SATELLITE NAVIGATION

Garmin UK: http://www.garmin.com/garmin/cms/site/uk/

GPS Warehouse: http://www.gpsw.co.uk/

TRIP METERS

Brantz: http://www.brantz.co.uk/

MAPS & TRAVEL BOOKS

The Map Shop: http://www.themapshop.co.uk/

The Map Centre: http://www.themapcentre.com/

Stanfords: http://www.stanfords.co.uk/

Google Maps: http://maps.google.com

The Lonely Planet: http://www.lonelyplanet.com/

Footprint: http://www.footprintbooks.com/

Rough Guides: http://www.roughguides.com/

Michelin Guides: http://www.michelintravel.com/

top of page

INTERNATIONAL TRAVEL

INSURANCE

GENERAL INSURANCE

JPM Insurance: http://www.jpm-insurance.co.uk/

VEHICLE INSURANCE

Campbell Irvine (Accidental damage, fire and theft): http://www.campbellirvine.com/

Tysers (Third party only): http://www.tysers.com/web/index.html

INTERNATIONAL DRIVING PERMITS AND CARNETS

RAC: http://www.rac.co.uk/

HEALTH ADVICE

World Health Organisation: http://www.who.int/en/

COUNTRY ADVICE

British Foreign and Commonwealth Office: http://www.fco.gov.uk/en/

US Department of State: http://www.state.gov

CURRENCY EXCHANGE RATES

XE: http://www.xe.com/

Oanda: http://www.oanda.com/

WORLD TIMES AND TIME ZONES

Time and Date: http://www.timeanddate.com/

WEATHER

BBC: http://www.bbc.co.uk/weather

U.K. Met Office: http://www.metoffice.gov.uk/weather/

NEWS WEBSITES

BBC: http://news.bbc.co.uk/

CNN: http://www.cnn.com/WORLD/

Reuters: http://www.reuters.com/

top of page

UK BASED EMBASSIES AND CONSULATES

SOUTH EAST ASIA

Singapore High Commission: http://www.mfa.gov.sg/london/

High Commission of Malaysia: http://www.kln.gov.my/perwakilan/london

Royal Thai Embassy: http://www.thaiembassyuk.org.uk/

Royal Embassy of Cambodia: http://www.cambodianembassy.org.uk/

Embassy of Laos (Paris based): www.laoparis.com

Embassy of Vietnam: http://www.vietnamembassy.org.uk/consular.html

Embassy of the People’s Republic of China: http://uk.china-embassy.org/eng/

INDIA

High Commission of India: http://www.hcilondon.net/index.jsp

MEXICO AND CENTRAL AMERICA

Mexican Embassy: www.embamex.co.uk

Belize High Commission: http://www.belizehighcommission.com/

Embassy of Panama: http://www.panaconsul.com/

SOUTHERN AFRICA

South African High Commision: http://www.southafricahouse.com/

Zambian High Commission: http://www.zhcl.org.uk/

Swaziland High Commission: http://www.swazilandembassyus.com/relations.htm

Lesotho High Commission: http://www.lesotholondon.org.uk/

TRAVEL AGENTS

Go India Journeys: http://www.goindia.co.in/

Diethelm Travel: http://www.diethelmtravel.com/

China Sea International Travel Service (CSITS): http://www.csits.com.cn/

Siag Travel (North Africa): http://www.siagtravel.com/

top of page

HOTELS

INDIA

Taj Hotels: www.tajhotels.com

Fortune Landmark Hotel – Indore: www.fortunehotels.in

M.K Hotel – Amritsar: www.mkhotel.com

Hotel Ritz Plaza - Amritsar: www.ritzhotel.in

Surya Resort – McLeodganj: www.suryaresorts.com

Holiday Inn – Manali: www.holidayinn-manali.com

Oberoi Wildflower Hall - Shimla: www.oberoihotels.com

Ananda in the Himalayas – Rishikesh: www.anandaspa.com

The Corbett Hideaway - Ramnagar: www.leisurehotels.co.in

The Central Park – Gwalior: www.thecentralpark.net

Tiger’s Den Resort – Bandhavgarh: www.tigerdenbandhavgarh.com

Tuli International - Nagpur: www.tuligroup.com

Malligi Hotel – Hospet: www.malligihotels.com

Riverview Resort – Chiplun: www.chiplunhotels.com

MEXICO & CENTRAL AMERICA

Hotel Coral and Marina – Ensenada, Mexico: www.hotelcoral.com

La Pinta Hotel – San Quintin, Mexico: www.lapintahotels.com/sanquintin

Inn at Loreto Bay – Loreto, Mexico: www.innatloretobay.com

Marquis Los Cabos – San Jose del Cabo, Mexico: www.innatloretobay.com

Hotel Santa Anita – Los Mochis, Mexico: www.santaanitahotel.com

Hotel Posada Barrancas Mirador - El Divisadero, Mexico: www.mexicoscoppercanyon.com/mirador

Hotel Divisadero Barrancas - El Divisadero, Mexico: www.hoteldivisadero.com

Quinta Real - Zacatecas, Mexico: www.quintareal.com

Quinto las Alondras - Guanajuato, Mexico: www.quintalasalondras.com.mx

Sheraton Centro Historico - Mexico City, Mexico: www.sheratonmexico.com

Camino Real - Oaxaca, Mexico: www.caminoreal.com/oaxaca

Camino Real Zaashila - Hualtulco, Mexico: www.caminoreal.com/zaashila

Chan-Kah Resort Village - Palenque, Mexico: www.chan-kah.com.mx

Hotel Del Mar - Campeche, Mexico: www.delmarhotel.com.mx

Hotel Mayaland - Chichen Itza, Mexico: www.mayaland.com/hmayaland.htm

Barcelo Maya Colonial Beach - Akumal, Mexico: www.barcelomayacolonialbeach.com

Radisson Fort George Hotel & Marina - Belize City, Belize: www.radisson.com/belizecitybz

Hotel Villa Maya - Santa Elena, Guatemala: www.villasdeguatamala.com

Hotel Atitlan - Panajachel, Guatemala: www.hotelatitlan.com

Casa Santa Domingo - Antigua Guatemala, Guatemala: www.casasantodomingo.com.gt

Hotel Posada Real de Copan - Copan, Honduras: www.posadarealdecopan.com

Real Intercontinental - Tegucigalpa, Honduras: www.ictegucigalpa.gruporeal.com

Hotel Alhambra - Granada, Nicaragua: www.hotelalhambrani.com

Aurola Holiday Inn - San Jose, Costa Rica: www.aurola-holidayinn.com

Hotel Bambito - Bambito, Panama: www.hotelbambito.com

Caesar Park - Panama City, Panama: www.caesarparkpanama.com

SOUTHERN AFRICA

Table Bay Hotel, Cape Town, South Africa: www.tablebayhotel.com

Western Cape Hotel & Spa, Kleinmond, South Africa: www.westerncapehotelandspa.co.za

Diaz Strand Hotel, Mossel Bay, South Africa: www.diazbeach.co.za

Pezula Resort, Knysna, South Africa: www.pezula.com

Protea Hotel Marine, Port Elizabeth, South Africa: www.proteahotels.com

Katberg Hotel, Port Beaufort, South Africa: www.katberghotel.co.za

Sani Pass Hotel and Leisure Resort, Himeville, South Africa: www.sanipasshotel.co.za

Drakensburg Sun, Winterton, South Africa: www.southernsun.com

Stilwater Hotel, Vryheid, South Africa: www.stilwaterhotel.co.za

Sabi River Sun Hotel, Hazyview, South Africa: www.southernsun.com

Sabi Sabi Private Game Reserve, Skukuza, South Africa:  www.sabisabi.com

The Coach House, Tzaneen, South Africa: www.coachhouse.co.za

Cresta Thapama Hotel, Francistown, Botswana: www.cresta-hospitality.com

The Royal Livingstone, Livingstone, Zambia: www.suninternational.com

Cresta Riley's Hotel, Maun, Botswana: www.cresta-hospitality.com

Etosha Aboa Lodge, Tsumeb, Namibia: www.etosha-aoba-lodge.com

Swakopmund Hotel, Swakopmund, Namibia: www.legacyhotels.co.za

Sossusvlei Lodge, Sesriem, Namibia: www.sossusvleilodge.com

Nest Hotel, Lüderitz, Namibia: www.nesthotel.com

Canyon Hotel, Keetsmanshoop, Namibia: www.canyon-namibia.com

Vredendal Hotel, Vredendal, South Africa: www.vredendalhotel.co.za

top of page


Know a useful link that we've not listed - let us know and we'll add it to the list.

shim

4X4XPLORE INFO
Contact 4x4xplore
About 4x4xplore
How we look after you
rollover test
Useful Links
TECHNICAL INFO
What 4x4
what 4x4
test 4x4
Sample Roadbook
OTHER LINKS
Hero 4x4 Home
High Road